Font size

Hermann Lange


While Johannes Prassek was an offhand preacher, not bound by any manuscript, Hermann Lange, on the other hand, became known among catholics for his methodical, literally well prepared sermons. His listeners soon recognised in them his passion for pedagogy.

For Lange, born in 1912 in Leer, East Friesland, his uncle Hermann Lange, cathedral dean in Osnabrück, was an impressive model, also in respect of choice of profession. Early on he joined the „Bund Neudeutschland“ (ND) (New-German League). The ND was a catholic youth organisation for high-school and university students, who saw themselves as a bridge between Church and intellectuals. They strove for a renewal of Germany in the Christian spirit. Lange became leader of the Leer group already while in high-school. As a final year high-school and then as university student he became enthused by the religious philosopher Romano Guardini and the liturgical renewal movement he inspired, a movement which anticipated some reforms of the Second Vatican Council already in the 20s.

Lange was a thoroughly analytical, and not just in theological matters, highly educated personality. Besides the Eucharist, the proclaiming of the Word of God was central to his understanding of the role as a priest; in that he was close to the concerns of the reformatory churches. He rejected the ideology of National Socialism outright. Because he saw war as a core element of that ideology, he did not shy away from telling young soldiers in discussions, that participation in a war was fundamentally unacceptable by the Christian faith, Thus, he went far beyond the official stance of the then Church. This rejection of war shows the firm, focussed conviction of his thinking.

Original GermanText: Ökumenischer Arbeitskreis „Lübecker Märtyrer“ 
English Translation: Hans-Heinrich Boeker, Wyoming, Australia

proceed to portrait of Eduard Müller

Sprache

Schriftgröße

Hermann Lange

Porträt

War Johannes Prassek ein freier Prediger ohne Manuskript-Bindung, wurde Hermann Lange unter den Lübecker Katholiken bekannt für seine systematischen, schriftlich ausgefeilten Predigten. An ihm bemerkten die Zuhörer schnell die pädagogische Leidenschaft.

Hermann LangeLange, 1912 im ostfriesischen Leer geboren, hatte in seinem Onkel Hermann Lange, Domdechant in Osnabrück, ein prägendes Vorbild, auch im Blick auf die Berufswahl. Früh trat er in den „Bund Neudeutschland“ (ND) ein. Der ND war eine katholische Jugendorganisation für Gymnasiasten und Studenten, die sich als Brücke zwischen Kirche und Intellektuellen verstand. Der ND strebte eine Erneuerung Deutschlands aus christlichem Geist an. Schon als Schüler wurde Lange der Leiter der Leerer Gruppe. Als Primaner und Student begeisterte er sich für den Religionsphilosophen Romano Guardini und die von ihm inspirierte liturgische Erneuerungsbewegung, die schon in den 20er Jahren manche Reformen des späteren Zweiten Vatikanischen Konzils antizipierte.

Lange war ein gründlich nachdenkender und nicht nur in theologischen Fragen hoch gebildeter Mann. Neben der Eucharistie war die Verkündigung des Wortes Gottes zentral für sein Verständnis des priesterlichen Auftrags, darin war er dem Anliegen der reformatorischen Kirchen nahe. Die Ideologie des Nationalsozialismus lehnte er strikt ab. Da er den Krieg als ein Wesenselement dieser Ideologie erkannte, scheute er sich im Gespräch mit einem kritischen jungen Soldaten nicht, die Teilnahme am Krieg als im Grunde unvereinbar mit dem christlichen Glauben zu verurteilen. Damit ging er weit über die offizielle Haltung der damaligen Kirche hinaus. Diese Verwerfung des Krieges zeigt die Konsequenz und Radikalität seines Denkens.

Texterarbeitung: Ökumenischer Arbeitskreis „Lübecker Märtyrer“ 

weiter zum Porträt von Eduard Müller