Font size

Eduard Müller


During one interrogation by the Gestapo, he remarked that in reality he regarded himself as “actually nonpolitical”. But what means “nonpolitical” in a totalitarian regime? Similar to Prassek, he had the dark foreboding after his ordination in 1940 that he would surely get to know the inside of a KZ (Concentration Camp) one day.

Born in Neumünster in 1911 as the youngest of seven children, he had a meagre youth. The father had left the family and only paid alimony on rare occasions, his devout mother made a living by taking in laundry and working as a char woman. After finishing elementary school he completed an apprenticeship as a cabinet-maker. He already at that time felt the desire to become a priest. These talents had been recognised earlier by his one time school-mistress and his parish priest. They provided him with private tuition and organised financial sponsorships from Catholic patrons. He entered the Institute for Late Vocations “St. Clemens” near Driburg, where he attained his high-school-leaving certificate. While there, he always felt somewhat humiliated for being without means and dependent on others; but he persisted and went on. Having matriculated in 1935, he studied theology. A few weeks after his ordination as a priest, he took on his first posting in Lübeck.

While there he took care of the boys’ group, 10 years and up, as well as a group catering for unmarried young men. His activities with youths were so successful, that leaders of the Lübeck HJ (Hitler Youth) tried to engage him for their programs, however, they were not successful in recruiting him. Müller consciously structured his work as a counter to that of the HJ. His excursions into the Lübeck environs on Sunday mornings after mass were in direct opposition to HJ activities. His friendly and un-authoritarian manner was in contrast to that of the HJ leadership. Youths admired him. He was also held in high regard by tradesmen and labourers, as he would always lend a hand, when help was needed.

He took part in the copying and distribution of literature critical of the regime and allowed discussions, critical of the regime, during group meetings with young men. Müller never lost his gentleness, not even in the clutches of NS-Justice. Fellow prisoners and his cell-neighbour Stephan Pfürtner writes: “I think I shall never forget his calm gentle eyes: How they would wink me a ‘Good Morning’ in the early hours and in the evening a ‘Good Night’, I guess he was unable to even hurt a fly”. Eduard Müller’s short life as a priest was in itself decidedly contradictory to the prevailing ideology of cruelty, hatred and violence.

Original GermanText: Ökumenischer Arbeitskreis „Lübecker Märtyrer“
English Translation: Hans-Heinrich Boeker, Wyoming, Australia

Sprache

Schriftgröße

Eduard Müller

Porträt

Bei einer Gestapo-Vernehmung sagte er selber, er sei „eigentlich unpolitisch“. Aber was heißt schon „unpolitisch“ in einem totalitären Regime? Ähnlich wie Prassek hatte er nach seiner Priesterweihe im Jahre 1940 eine dunkle Ahnung: er werde bestimmt noch einmal Bekanntschaft mit einem KZ machen.

Eduard Müller mit seiner MutterIn Neumünster 1911 als das jüngste von sieben Kindern geboren, erlebte er eine karge Jugend. Der Vater verließ die Familie und zahlte nur gelegentlich Alimente, die gläubige Mutter schlug sich als Stundenhilfe und Waschfrau durch. Nach dem Besuch der Volksschule absolvierte er eine Tischlerlehre. Schon da spürte er den Wunsch, Priester zu werden. Seine Begabung wurde von seiner früheren Lehrerin und dem Pfarrer erkannt. Sie gaben ihm Privatstunden und organisierten finanzielle Unterstützung durch katholische Gönner. In dem Spätberufenenheim St. Clemens bei Driburg, das ihn zum Abitur führte, fühlte er sich gedemütigt von dem Gefühl, mittellos und von anderen abhängig zu sein, aber er ging seinen Weg. 1935 machte er Abitur und studierte Theologie. Wenige Wochen nach der Priesterweihe bekam er seine erste Stelle in Lübeck.

Eduard Müller baut mit Jugendlichen einen Kohlenkeller zum Jugendraum umHier betreute er den Jungen-Kreis ab 10 Jahren und den Gesellenkreis. Seine Jugendarbeit war so erfolgreich, dass ihn die Lübecker Führung der Hitler-Jugend (HJ) zu sich hinüberzuziehen suchte, wobei sie auf Granit biss. Müller profilierte seine Arbeit im bewussten Kontra: Seine Ausflüge am Sonntagvormittag nach der Messe in die Umgebung bildeten eine direkte Konkurrenz zu den HJ-Aktivitäten. Seine freundliche und unautoritäre Art war auch ein Gegensatz zum Führerstil der Hitlerjugend. Die Jugendlichen liebten ihn geradezu. Beliebt war er auch unter Handwerkern und Arbeitern, zumal er gern mit anpackte, wenn Hilfe nötig war.

Brevier Kaplan Müllers © FiebigEr beteiligte sich u. a. an der Vervielfältigung regimekritischer Schriften und ließ bei den Gesellenabenden kritisch über das NS-Regime diskutieren. Müller verlor seine Sanftmut auch nicht in den Fängen der NS-Justiz. Der Mitgefangene und Zellennachbar Stephan Pfürtner schreibt: „Seine stillen, sanften Augen werde ich wohl nie vergessen: Wie sie mir in der Frühe ‚Guten Morgen‘ und abends einen Gute-Nacht-Gruß zublinzelten. Es schien mir, als ob er keiner Fliege etwas zuleide tun könne.“ Eduard Müllers kurzes Priesterleben war in sich ein entschiedener Widerspruch zur herrschenden Ideologie der Unbarmherzigkeit, des Hasses und der Gewalt.

Texterarbeitung: Ökumenischer Arbeitskreis „Lübecker Märtyrer“