Language

Font size

Karl Friedrich Stellbrink

Portrait

Pastor Karl Friedrich Stellbrink’s career is not without controversy. He, who was sentenced and executed as an opponent of the Nazi Regime, came to Lübeck as a supporter of that regime in 1934. Stellbrink supported the program of the NSDAP (National-Socialist German Labour Party) from a German-national point of view and had welcomed Adolf Hitler’s ascension to power with great hopes. Contributing to his expectations would have been the romanticised picture of Germany which Stellbrink would have carried with him during his time of service as pastor to German parishes in Brazil (1921 to 1929).

Pastor Stellbrink and familiyStellbrink, like many others, fell victim to the deceptions of Hitler, who pretended to be a Christian and liked to quote biblical texts. As time proceeded, Stellbrink’s idea of a fruitful symbiosis between Christendom and National-socialism proved to be nothing but an illusion. A crucifix covered up with a greatcoat at the chapel of the Vorwerk Cemetery during the funeral of a Lübeck Nazi personality was to him the beacon of Christ-hatred, a hatred which he openly denounced in his sermon on Palmarum (Palm Sunday) 1942, after the terrible bombing raid on Lübeck: “God has spoken in a loud voice and the people of Lübeck will once again learn to pray”. This sermon led to his arrest by the Secret State Police (Gestapo), which was followed by the arrest of the three catholic priests. Also arrested and charged were 17 members of the catholic community and an evangelical-Lutheran parishioner. They were tried and sentenced to various lengths of imprisonment, except for two cases, which were deemed to have served their time in remand.

Realising the true character of National-socialism was paralleled with Stellbrink’s growing friendship with the three catholic chaplains and the von de Berg family, who played a leading role in the catholic community in Lübeck. While Stellbrink’s initial anti-catholicism had been implanted during his education, it turned into acceptance. This friendship also led to the appreciation of the importance and implications of the sermons of the bishop of Münster, Graf von Galen, which revealed irrefutably the criminal and inhuman character of the Nazi regime. It resulted in their copying and duplicating these sermons together, which were distributed among the community. This was the true reason for their arrests, trials and executions.

Stellbrink stood, like many other evangelical theologians before 1933, for a tradition which had an anti-catholic, anti-jewish character. „Against Rome and Juda!“ became their motto, because both were deemed to be un-German and alien to the German psyche. As his anti-catholic stance withered so did his anti-jewish attitudes.

Pastor Karl Friedrich Stellbrink thus took a long route, which changed from a German-national and National-socialist conviction, his rejection of catholicism and judaism, to their acceptance and a furtherance in the latter phase of his life; yet it ultimately led to his conviction.

Original GermanText: Ökumenischer Arbeitskreis „Lübecker Märtyrer“ 
English Translation: Hans-Heinrich Boeker, Wyoming, Australia

proceed to portrait of Johannes Prassek

 
Karl Friedrich Stellbrink Karl Friedrich Stellbrink

More information in German language

 
www.heiligenlexikon.de

www.gdw-berlin.de

Sprache

Schriftgröße

Karl Friedrich Stellbrink

Porträt

Pastor Karl Friedrich Stellbrink ist nicht unumstritten. Er, der als Gegner des NS-Systems verurteilt und hingerichtet wurde, kam als Anhänger dieses Systems 1934 nach Lübeck. Stellbrink unterstützte aus einer deutsch-nationalen Grundhaltung das Programm der NSDAP und hatte 1933 den Machtantritt Adolf Hitlers hoffnungsvoll begrüßt. Dazu wird auch das romantisierte Deutschland-Bild beigetragen haben, das Stellbrink aus der Zeit seines Auslandsdienstes als Pastor deutscher Gemeinden in Brasilien (1921–1929) mitgebracht hatte.

Familie StellbrinkDer Täuschung Hitlers, der sich als Christ ausgab und mit biblischem Vokabular hantierte, war Stellbrink wie viele andere erlegen. In einem längeren Prozess erwies sich für Stellbrink die Vorstellung einer fruchtbaren Symbiose zwischen Christentum und Nationalsozialismus als Illusion. Der mit einem Mantel verhängte Kruzifixus in der Vorwerker Friedhofskapelle bei der Beerdigung einer Lübecker Nazigröße war für ihn das Fanal eines Christus-Hasses, den er in seiner Palmarum-Predigt 1942 nach dem verheerenden Bombenangriff auf Lübeck mit dem Ausruf anprangerte: „Gott hat mit mächtiger Sprache geredet – die Lübecker werden wieder lernen zu beten“. Diese Predigt führte zu seiner Verhaftung durch die Geheime Staatspolizei, der die Verhaftung der drei katholischen Kapläne folgte. Mit ihnen wurden 17 Mitglieder der katholischen Gemeinde und ein evangelischer Christ in Lübeck angeklagt. Diese wurden im Prozess überwiegend zu Haftstrafen verurteilt, die – bis auf zwei Fälle – durch die Untersuchungshaft abgegolten waren.

Kanzel in der Lutherkirche © FiebigMit der wachsenden Einsicht in den wahren Charakter des Nationalsozialismus ging für Stellbrink einher die Annäherung an die drei katholischen Kapläne und an die Familie von de Berg, die eine zentrale Rolle in der katholischen Gemeinde Lübecks spielte. Stellbrinks in der Erziehung angelegter Antikatholizismus wich einer zunehmenden Offenheit. In dieser freundschaftlichen Verbindung wuchs die Einsicht in die Bedeutung der Predigten des Bischofs von Münster, Graf von Galen, sie enthüllten unwiderlegbar den verbrecherischen und menschenverachtenden Charakter der Naziherrschaft. Es kam zur gemeinschaftlichen Vervielfältigung und Verbreitung dieser Predigten. Darin ist die eigentliche Ursache für Verhaftung, Prozess und Todesurteil zu sehen.

Stellbrink stand wie viele andere evangelische Theologen vor 1933 in einer Tradition, die eine antikatholische und antijüdische Haltung verband, die „Gegen Rom und Juda!“ zu ihrer Devise gemacht hatte, denn beide wurden als deutschfeindlich und fremd für das „deutsche Wesen“ empfunden. Parallel zu seinem antikatholischen Affekt schwand auch seine antijüdische Einstellung.

Pastor Karl Friedrich Stellbrink ist also einen langen Weg gegangen, der aus dieser deutsch-nationalen und dann nationalsozialistischen Überzeugung, aus einer Ablehnung der katholischen Kirche und des Judentums zu den Überzeugungen führte, die ihn in seiner letzten Lebensphase bestimmten und die ursächlich wurden für seine Verurteilung.

Texterarbeitung: Ökumenischer Arbeitskreis „Lübecker Märtyrer“ 

weiter zum Porträt von Johannes Prassek

 
Karl Friedrich Stellbrink Karl Friedrich Stellbrink

Lebenslauf


Vita in Stichworten

 

Mehr Informationen

 
www.heiligenlexikon.de

www.gdw-berlin.de